Morning Prayer

morning sun through the trees along our driveway
morning sun through the trees along our driveway

I miss my kids and grandchildren. I live in Northeast Ohio and my daughter, son-in-law and four boys live in Cincinnati, my youngest son lives in Washington, and my middle son and daughter-in-law live in China. So this morning’s devotion really “hit the spot.” That spot of loss that only a parent understands. But I am grateful. Grateful for their health and their lives and what my children bring to the little corners of the world in which they live.

Many friends and family members have not been so fortunate these past two years. Nothing to do but give hugs Sunday morning in shock because a Dad and husband died in the prime of his life. Nothing to do but feel pain as a community in Northwest Ohio agonizes over the sudden loss of a dear friend. Nothing to do but listen as a friend calls to share the hole in her life since her husband died. Nothing to do but wonder as a young Mom was killed in a car accident, leaving behind a most beautiful family. Nothing to do but well up in tears because a family member lost his life on a motorcycle, leaving behind a precious child.

Is there something you are missing this morning? A particular loss you are grieving?

Sometimes prayer is the only thing I can do.

From A Diary of Private Prayer by John Baillie

O Lord my God, who dwellest in pure and blessed serenity beyond the reach of mortal pain, yet lookest down in unspeakable love and tenderness upon the sorrows of earth, give me grace, I beseech Thee, to understand the meaning of such afflictions and disappointments as I myself am called upon to endure.

Deliver me from all fretfulness. Let me be wise to draw from every dispensation of Thy providence the lesson Thou art minded to teach me. Give me a stout heart to bear my own burdens. Give me a willing heart to bear the burdens of others. Give me a believing heart to cast all burdens upon Thee.

Glory be to Thee, O Father, and to Thee, O Christ, and to Thee, O Holy Spirit, for ever and ever. Amen.

th-1

3 thoughts on “Morning Prayer

  1. Oh, yes, family of God. There is a deep longing as I too have been missing our children, with the closest one in Louisiana and we are in Northwest Ohio. The times we connect are so precious, and I thank God for those times…sometimes only once a year or less. How it nurtures me to hear they are doing well and experiencing God’s presence. Thank You, Lord, for Your faithfulness….and we pray You will wrap Your heart around those who mourn deep losses today. Bring them people who will quietly feel their pain and help them absorb the shock. Thank You, Lord.

    Like

  2. Thank you Donna as I pray in Evening Prayers. I place my self in God’s. I place others in God’s hands.
    DAle

    Like

  3. Perfect timing as I am taking a 4 day training on emotional and spiritual care in disaster & grief following trauma. I got to share in class today how FP teaches us the art of lament, so beautifully and courageously penned in the psalms so many years ago. Grateful to serve a God who walks with us through the pain, never letting go.

    Like

Leave a comment