Grief Observed

Almost a year ago, I honored the life and passing of Don Reinhart and so many friends who were suffering from loss of loved ones. I recently spoke with Don’s wife, Jan, who is valiantly walking through this painful journey. For Jan and others, this season warrants a life reset with one person painfully missing from the family portrait. Interestingly, this piece about grief was 2016’s most viewed and shared post on my blog.

Season Six(ty): life in the sixty something years

images

“We were promised sufferings. They were part of the program. We were even told, ‘Blessed are they that mourn,’ and I accept it. I’ve got nothing that I hadn’t bargained for. Of course it is different when the thing happens to oneself, not to others, and in reality, not imagination.”                              C.S.Lewis in A Grief Observed

I’m a bit of an eclectic reader, so I’m not surprised that I picked up a book that I knew might depress me. It turned out to be one hard read.

Only Spring is the journal of a father who lost two sons: one to suicide at the age of 22 and the other to leukemia at age 6. You can only imagine the pain that bled through each page.

At different times throughout the book I asked myself, why am…

View original post 497 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

