What’s on Your Bookshelf? Part Two

Sharing books is my focus the next few days. See What’s On Your Bookshelf Part One for more summer reading selections. A few I am looking forward to~

2447324_2699039_1432844710
Available Aug 2015. Love her wit and passion for people.
214080
Henderson’s newest.
Unknown
Highly recommended by spiritual directors.
th?id=OP
Recommended by those who loved The Kite Runner.

Thanks for the book recommendations following my last post. Keep them coming!

Currently Reading. . .

The New Jim Crow   Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander

Seems like I’ve been plowing forever through The New Jim Crow. I use plowing in the best sense of the word. Every page digs up startling truths on the plight of the contemporary African American male profiled for the United States penal system and delegated by the justice system to a permanent second class status. Although a pretty dense read for me, it’s an important book on racial justice so I’m not willing to let it go by the wayside.

The Whole Brained Child by Daniel Siegel, M.D.

I was first introduced to Siegel through his audio cd set, “The Neurobiology of We.” His neuroscience research on the impact of relationships on the adult brain fascinates me. The Whole Brained Child provides insight to the child’s brain. It emphasizes “strategies to nurture your child’s developing mind.” The institution where I teach began integrating  child development, behavior, relationships, and spiritual growth with neurobiology several years ago. I believe even more information is on the horizon for this holistic approach to understanding ourselves, each other and our relationship with Christ.

A Diary of Private Prayer by John Baillie

If you are looking for a hard hitting devotional, this may be the one. 1940’s professor and Presbyterian Scottish minister Baillie dispenses with analogies and personal stories. Instead, his writing is direct, his attitude is serious, and his emphasis on holiness is challenging. The book jacket blurb encapsulates the exacting tone of his work. “If private prayer may be characterized as the wrestling of the soul with God, this book will be of real assistance in making that struggle not only easier, but more constructive.” Each morning and evening devotion proves to be constructive for me. I appreciate Baillie’s spiritual depth.

The Upward Spiral by Alex Korb, PhD

The subtitle to this book summarizes the content well: “using neuroscience to reverse the course of depression one small change at a time.” Korb helps me understand how my brain is wired and what alters my neuropathways for stronger emotional health. His lay approach to explaining brain function provides an easy to grasp text. Korb’s section on behaviors that will improve brain functioning and decrease depression are valuable to me.

As I peruse this list, I realize I don’t have a good novel going. Time for a trip to the library before going on vacation Friday! What are some of your current and/or favorite reads? Looking forward to hearing from you.

Donna

4 thoughts on “What’s on Your Bookshelf? Part Two

Add yours

  1. Currently on the shelf:
    The Body Keeps th Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma by Bessel van der Kolk
    Guaranteed Pure: The Moody Bible Institute, Business, and the Making of Modern Evangelicalism by Timothy E.W. Gloege
    Just finishing up the reading year with the Renovare Book Club, which included Madame Guyon’s Autobiography, Julian of Norwich’s Showings and three contemporary authors, plus community discussions on Goodreads
    Currently also engaged in Luther Reading Challenge (Google this), and online community Accepting the challenge of reading and discussing many of the works of Martin Luther between now and the 500th anniversary of the Reformation in 1517
    Finally, as”vacations for the mind” – almost any novel by Clive Cussler and friends

    Like

  2. Thanks for the reading ideas…are there any audio book suggestions that you have…I am planning some road trips this summer. I also like to listen during my commute to and from work. I am not in the midst of any stories right now, but doing Beth Moore’s “Sacred Secrets” study at a local church and enjoying it. Going through “The Bondage Breaker” with a friend as well.

    Like

  3. There is a lot of good reading there, Donna. Thanks for sharing.

    Latest book I read and really enjoyed is Finding Home: An Imperfect Path to Faith and Family by Jim Daly. I understand he is president and CEO of Focus on the Family. His childhood story is one of incredible brokenness, but he overcame and gives encouragement to others. This book is very well written and is a good read. Many of my family members have read it and are excited to share it with others. It is being passed around a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

